The Five Levels of Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs

Last Updated on

Some people will do everything for fame and will do whatever it takes to have it. Some people will do whatever it takes to be loved back by the person they love. Some people will do whatever it takes even to commit crimes, just to feed their families.

Some people will leave the life they have known just to stay safe again. Some people are just fine the way they are and simply keep on living on, inspired by the journey as much as their destination. These people represent each of the five levels of Maslow’s hierarchy of needs which was developed by Abraham Maslow back in 1943.

This hierarchy of needs, usually presented in a triangle, shows the ranking of needs that people need to satisfy while living. It is built under the premise of the highest level in the hierarchy which is “what a one can be, one must be.”

The five levels of Abraham Maslow’s hierarchy of needs are listed below from lowest to the highest:

Physiological Needs

The physiological needs includes the basic needs that man needs for the survival of his body which food, clothing, air, shelter, and the homeostatic processes such as excretion. The people who are willing to do whatever it takes to feed their families are good representatives of those who are in this level; they would risk their dreams of becoming a doctor, risk the safety of their survival, their freedom (such as in committing criminal acts), just so they could have food for dinner. Once the physiological needs are satisfied, a person could move on to the next level which is the need for safety.

Safety Needs

Once the need for the body’s maintenance has been secured, the need to feel safe takes precedence. Safety needs take various forms such as personal safety which is the need to feel free from physical harm such as war and domestic violence. Financial security, which no longer needs to be explained because you can access internet, is another example.


Once a person feels safe, he or she will need to feel loved and accepted by others. This takes form in two ways, sexual and non-sexual. This can be shown by people who perform at below optimal levels when they feel ostracized from friends or by people who were lovelorn. When a person has already received love and belonging, they feel much better and more motivated which is now the next level.


This is now the point where people seek self-respect and esteem rather than just love and belonging. It can be done by seeking fame and glory, which Maslow describes as the lower version. The higher version is the one which is more internally-oriented which is the need for strength, self-mastery, and self-respect.


These four are the “deprivation needs” that needed to be satisfied in the five levels of Maslow’s hierarchy of needs. They are called as such because it is satisfied by the absence of its lacking and once a person no longer lacks these four, a person is now ready to satisfy the highest level, “growth need,” which is self-actualization, or the need to become what one is capable of being, whatever it may be.

Facebook Comments